“Don’t Worry”

Today it’s the boy’s turn to sing you some K-pop.

I can guess that a fair number of people reading this blog (and who have undoubtedly noticed just how much of this crap I post) are wondering why in the hell I listen to this stuff.

So, let me answer you.

You’re probably aware that I am writing an novel. Well, there’s a trick to writing, especially when the paragraphs need to be lined with very specific emotional content.

You need to be in that “perfect” headspace.

The easiest way to get into said mindset, you might ask? Well, music, of course. This novel isn’t about celebrities singing about how they are in love with/breaking up with people or how amazing they are, but the feel of the music, the flatness to it, the lack of a meaningful message; that puts me right where I need to be.

It isn’t that I hate this music, either. It’s really catchy, and even I like to just sit back and let it captivate me with the visuals and rhythm.

And honestly, if there was some way I could change the current fashion to being the sort of bizarre, cool stuff those guys have on, I’d do it. I would totally wear some of those outfits. I’d make walking on the street much more interesting, don’t you think?

But getting back to what I was talking about; headspace. It fits perfectly with the novel, though it might not appear so at first. The detail to the presentation, yet having little behind it; that’s just the way my fictitious world works, everyone obsessed with appeal. So, there you have it. Lend this an ear; it’s called Bad Girl by Beast.

Alright, on to the main topic then; something I do quite a bit in conversation.

I tell people who’ve had a bad day or are stressing out over something, “don’t worry”.

It’s something I mean heartfelt, but I honestly get the impression it comes across as a sort of knee-jerk reaction whenever someone says they have problems. And for a lot of people, let’s face it, it probably is.

But I mean it. Not in the way it sounds, perhaps. I might sound like I’m saying, “you shouldn’t stress out over this thing”. Like I’m saying that what you’re worrying about doesn’t really matter, or that you are making a big deal out of something that shouldn’t be.

But here’s the catch. Here’s what I’m really saying:

There’s always a bright side. No matter how much your day was awful or how you think something in your future might go horribly, horribly wrong, I’m saying remember that there’s also a chance it could go right. That tomorrow will be better than today. That even though the metaphorical sun is setting and everything is dark and shaded, the dawn always comes after, bringing new light and a new day.

I’m encouraging you. Or trying to, anyway. I’m not trivializing your problems. I’m saying I want to help if I can, and I hope you’ll see the silver lining in your black cloud.

So if you, the person reading this, have a had a terrible day yourself, or are anxious about something, or just feel depressed and down; just let me say something and hope that the full message of what I mean is apparent:

Don’t worry.

Less-than-eloquently yours,
Brendon “hopes he cheered you up” Regier

Tags: , , , , , ,

About Brendon

I am a global terrorism warlord, meth kingpin, and hacker extraordinaire who has a moon base, at least fifteen wives, countless armies at my disposal, and a discover card. Oh, I also frequently make things up when I'm bored.

Leave a Reply

